On behalf of the Department of Planning, Industry and Environment (the Department), GANSW launched the NSW State Design Review Panel (SDRP) in April 2018. The design review pilot program was established to deliver the principles and ambitions of Better Placed and to provide a consistent, state-wide approach to reviewing the design quality of State Significant projects.

SDRP panellists are drawn from a pool of independent and highly qualified members with expertise in different types of development including architecture, landscape architecture, urban design and heritage. The members represent a variety of skills across design in the built environment and bring a diversity of experience and insight.

Over two years of operation the SDRP reviewed $8.8 billion worth of projects. There were over 90 SDRP sessions and 160 projects were reviewed. Close to half of the projects were schools, with the remainder including student and affordable housing, hospitals, universities, public institutions, new precincts, sport facilities and private mixed-use developments.

The SDRP contributes to good design by offering practical advice which proponents can action. It provides a structured forum in which critical issues can be raised earlier in the development process, helping proponents to make well-informed decisions about the design development of proposals. It is highly valued by the Department’s Planning and Assessment Group and contributes to the coordination and streamlining of approval processes by providing confidence to the consent authority on the design quality of State Significant projects.

In September 2019 additional panel members were appointed to support both the increase in scope of projects being reviewed by the panel and the need to address a shortfall in identified specialist expertise areas including landscape architecture, heritage, education design, hospital design, strategic urban design and environmental design. The panel has also been enhanced with the addition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander panel members with expertise in Aboriginal Cultural Heritage to champion opportunities to Design with Country.

GANSW now invites suitably experienced and qualified industry experts to apply for the NSW SDRP. GANSW is committed to ensuring that the NSW SDRP can provide project teams with the benefit of insights from a diverse group of experts. GANSW strongly encourages applications from Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, women, people with disabilities, regional practitioners and other diversity groups.

There will be a virtual information session for potential panel members on 19 August 2020. Please refer to the eTendering link below to register for the information session and to download the RFP documents.

Applications will close at 4PM on 24 August 2020.

Current NSW SDRP panel members, including those appointed in 2019, are listed below:

  • Adam Haddow, SJB
  • Amanda Roberts, SJB Urban
  • Angela Koepp, Roberts Day*
  • Ashley Dunn, Dunn & Hillam
  • Bill Tsakalos, TDDP
  • Carroll Go-Sam, School of Architecture, University of Queensland*
  • Che Wall, Flux Consultants Pty Ltd*
  • Chi Melhem, Tzannes*
  • David Tickle, Hassell Ltd*
  • Deborah Barnstone, UTS
  • Diane Jones, PTW
  • Elizabeth Carpenter, FJMT*
  • Esther Dickins, Scott Carver*
  • Felicity Stewart, Stewart Architecture*
  • Francoise Lane, indij design*
  • Gabrielle Morrish, GMU
  • Garth Paterson, Paterson Design Studio
  • Helen Lochhead, UNSW
  • Ingrid Mather, JMD Design
  • Isabelle Toland, Aileen Sage Architects
  • Jefa Greenaway, Greenaway Architects*
  • John Choi, CHROFI
  • Justine Clarke
  • Kate Luckcraft,  Aspect*
  • Ken Maher, Ken Maher Consulting
  • Kim Crestani, Order Architects
  • Lynne Hancock, Architectus 
  • Mark Tyrrell, Tyrrell Studio
  • Mary Anne McGirr, Design Inc
  • Matt Davis, Davis + Davis
  • Matt Devine, Matt Devine & Co
  • Matthew Bennett, Bennett & Trimble
  • Matthew Pullinger, Matthew Pullinger Architect
  • Matthias Hollenstein, Stewart Hollenstein
  • Michael Tawa
  • Mungo Smith, MAAP*
  • Natalie Vinton, Curio Projects*
  • Oi Choong
  • Paul Stoller, Atelier Ten Australia Pty Ltd*
  • Peter Mould, Peter Mould Architect
  • Peter Poulet, Central City District Commissioner Greater Sydney Commission/ School of the Built Environment, Western Sydney University*
  • Peter Smith, Smith & Tzannes
  • Peter Titmuss, BVN Architecture Pty Ltd*
  • Philip Pollard, Amenity
  • Richard Nugent, Conybeare Morrison
  • Roger Jasprizza, Oculus
  • Sacha Coles, ASPECT Studios
  • Sam Crawford, Sam Crawford Architects
  • Sara Stace
  • Sarah Koshy, Jacobs
  • Sharon Wright, Hassell Ltd*
  • Shelley Penn, Shelley Penn Architect
  • Simon Kilbane, UTS
  • Sophie Cleland, ARM
  • Sue Anne Ware, University of Newcastle
  • Tamara Donellan, Terroir*
  • Timothy Hill, Partners Hill

*New NSW SDRP panel members.

You can read more about the NSW SDRP pilot program below.

NSW State Design Review Panel Pilot Program Introduction - PDF, 755KB, 12 pages

Read the introduction brochure

NSW State Design Review Panel Pilot Frequently Asked Questions - PDF, 28.8KB, 2 pages

Download the FAQs

NSW State Design Review Panel Terms of Reference - PDF, 106.5KB, 4 pages

Read the terms of reference

NSW SDRP pilot program: Guidelines for project teams GANSW advisory note - PDF, 60 KB, 4 pages

Guidelines for Project teams

NSW State Design Review Panel (pilot) planning circular - PDF, 3.2MB, 2 pages

DPE Planning Circular